As part of its marine industry promotional campaign, SODES awards a $1,500 scholarship to a graduate or postgraduate student in a field related to the maritime industry, as well as to a Institut maritime du Québec student.

Information – 2019 University scholarship

• St. Lawrence Economic Development Council (SODES)

Application deadline
October 4, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. EST

Promote university graduate-level studies in fields related to responsible marine-sector economic development.
Examples: transport logistics, oceanography, environment, engineering, international trade, international logistics, water sciences, geography, administration, etc.


  • 1 grant of $1500 (non-renewable)

Grant period

Reserved for

  • Canadian citizens
  • Permanent residents

Students targeted

  • Master’s and Doctorate levels
  • Postdoctoral fellowes
  • All programs

Eligibility criteria

  • Be a Canadian citizen or have resident or permanent resident status;
  • Have completed two (2) terms in his/her program at the time of application;
  • Be registered as a full-time student at the time of application and during the year for which the grant is awarded (12 or more credits per session);
  • Be registered in a Quebec university in a field of study or research related to responsible marine-sector economic development;
  • Show leadership and involvement in his/her field.

To receive this grant, you must participate to the SODES luncheon-conference on November 21, 2019 in Montreal.

Selection criteria

  • Academic excellence (at university) 50%
  • Research potential 30%
  • Leadership characteristics and social skills 20%

Application documents
The candidate’s file must contain the following:

  • application form;
  • summary of research proposed, describing the research project and its importance for one or more fields of research related to the maritime sector (1 page maximum);
  • detailed résumé;
  • copy of most recent transcript.

2018 edition

In 2018, Sodes awarded the Sodes next generation scholarship to Éric Walling, a PhD candidate in chemical engineering at Université Laval, Quebec.
The jury consisted of:

  • Nathalie de Marcellis-Warin, Full Professor, Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, and President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis of Organizations (CIRANO);
  • Steve Plante, Full Professor, Department of Societies, Territories and Development, Université du Québec à Rimouski;
  • Brigitte Robineau, Executive Director, Inter-institutional oceanographic research group of Québec, Québec-Océan.

They recognized the excellence of Mr. Walling’s candidacy and the relevance, for the marine industry, of his research project “Développement d’un outil d’aide à la décision pour la valorisation des matières organiques résiduelles” (Development of a decision-making support tool for using organic waste).


2017 edition 

Sodes awarded the SODES Next Generation scholarship to David Didier, a PhD candidate in Environmental Sciences at the Université du Québec à Rimouski and Montréal. The jury, consisted of Céline Audet, Institut des sciences de la mer (ISMER), and Theme Director, Resources, marine energies and health of the maritime economy, Réseau Québec Maritime (RQM); Yan Cimon, Full Professor and Director, Interuniversity Research Centre on Enterprise Networks, Logistics and Transportation (CIRRELT); and Candice Sénéchal, MerLIN Project Coordinator, Technopole maritime du Québec. The jury members recognized Mr. Didier’s academic excellence and the relevance of his research project analyzing and developing a mapping model of coastal flooding in the Estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence in a context of climate change, entitled “Analyse et développement d’un modèle de cartographie de la submersion côtière dans l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent dans un contexte de changements climatiques”.


Scholarship for Institut maritime du Québec’s students

SODES also recognizes the academic excellence of Institut maritime du Québec (IMQ) students.

2019 recipients: Transportation Logistics students Vincent Godbout and Marie-Andray Létourneau and Marine Engineering student Aristide Elle Nkomo Potouo.