New measures to protect North Atlantic right whales from ship strikes in the Gulf of St. Lawrence

Read more
See all news

Transport Canada is concerned about the deaths of endangered North Atlantic right whales in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. For the second year, Transport Canada is taking action to minimize risks to North Atlantic right whales and marine personnel in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

LYNE MORISSETTE: NEW MARITIME INFORMATION BUREAU MARINE MAMMALS AND MARINE ECOSYSTEMS EXPERT

Read more
See all news

Québec City, March 22, 2018 – The Maritime Information Bureau (MIB), a one-stop information window and the reference for all questions regarding the marine industry and the key issues affecting it, is pleased to announce that, in future, Lyne Morissette will be our expert in files related to marine mammals and marine ecosystems.

Government announces new initiatives to protect whales under the Oceans Protection Plan

Read more
See all news

Government announces initiatives to protect whales: A $12,2 million investment to study the impacts of underwater noise, to develop technologies able to detect the presence of whales in real time and to help protect and recover endangered whale species in Canada.

MIB INFO UPDATE: SPEED RESTRICTION AND RIGHT WHALES

Read more
See all news

The Maritime Information Bureau (MIB) has prepared a special infosheet on right whales, highlighting the reasons for this measure’s implementation and its impacts on shipping.

Global treaty to halt invasive aquatic species enters into force

Read more
See all news

A key international measure for environmental protection that aims to stop the spread of potentially invasive aquatic species in ships’ ballast water enters into force today (8 September 2017).

The International Convention for the Control and Management of Ships’ Ballast Water and Sediments (BWM Convention) requires ships to manage their ballast water to remove, render harmless, or avoid the uptake or discharge of aquatic organisms and pathogens within ballast water and sediments.

MIB Info Update: Énergie Saguenay and belugas

Read more
See all news

In response to an article that ran in the daily newspaper Le Journal de Montréal on September 6, 2017 about the development of a methane port project in the Saguenay and its impact on the beluga, the Maritime Information Bureau (MIB) would like to rectify the following information:

1. Fact sheet issued by federal authorities vs. formal notice from Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Contrary to what is indicated in the article, the document from Fisheries and Oceans Canada is not a formal DFO notice on GNL Québec’s Énergie Saguenay project, but a “fact sheet issued by federal authorities.” This type of fact sheet is actually a form the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEEA) distributes to the different federal government departments concerned after a promoter tables a project description. On this fact sheet, the federal government departments can indicate the expertise they have to eventually perform an environmental assessment of the project and to raise its potential and anticipated adverse effects. This work precedes the environmental impact study and is not at all an exhaustive analysis or assessment of a project or its environmental impacts.

MIB Info Update: Shipping Regulations

Read more
See all news

In response to an article that ran in the daily newspaper Le Quotidien on August 16, 2017, the Maritime Information Bureau (MIB) would like to point out that virtually all aspects of the shipping industry are highly regulated, as shown below (ref).

1. International regulations

The very nature of shipping, which is central to global trade, requires regulation at the international level. International maritime regulations are developed by specialized United Nations agencies, such as the International Maritime Organization (IMO). The IMO currently has 172 member states and the conventions (about 30) it has developed since its creation address various aspects, including international shipping safety and security and the prevention of pollution from ships. According to the IMO, “[…] many Conventions now apply to more than 98% of world merchant shipping tonnage (ref).”

GREEN MARINE PARTICIPANTS EMBRACE NEW ENVIRONMENTAL CHALLENGES

Read more
See all news

Green Marine is marking its 10th anniversary as North America’s environmental certification program for the maritime industry by holding its annual conference at the Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six until tomorrow. GreenTech 2017 opened this morning with the release of the 2016 environmental performance results of Green Marine’s more than 100 participants and a good news story to share.

Green Marine’s participants obtained an overall average of 3.1 on a 1-to-5 scale that has Level 1 requiring the monitoring of regulations and Level 5 reflecting excellence and leadership. The overall average of the participants for all performance indicators has remained quite steady over the past few years even though new indicators have been introduced and the criteria for existing indicators have been made significantly more demanding in several cases.

MIB Info Update: Ballast Waters and Aquatic Invasive Species

Read more
See all news

In response to an article that ran in the daily newspaper Le Devoir on March 18, 2017, the Marine Information Bureau (MIB) would like to clarify a few things regarding ballast water management measures applicable to vessels navigating in Canada.

Ballast water – What is it?

Ballast water is essential for the safe operation of merchant ships, allowing them to navigate at the proper depth and ensuring their stability. Ballasting is necessary when a vessel carries heavy cargo in one hold and a lighter load in another, when it is travelling empty or when the sea is rough.

When ballast waters are discharged, non-indigenous, potentially invasive, aquatic species may be introduced. However, international and Canadian regulations have been in effect for a number of years now (2004 and 2006 respectively) to address this problem.

GREEN MARINE RELEASES ITS NEW PERFORMANCE INDICATORS FOR UNDERWATER NOISE

Read more
See all news

Quebec City, Wednesday, January 25, 2017 – Green Marine is broadening the scope of its North American environmental certification program by adding two performance indicators dealing with underwater noise emanating from ships and port activities respectively, with the goal of reducing the impact on marine mammals.

BACK

LE BIM VOUS INFORME : LA GARDE CÔTIÈRE CANADIENNE, LES BRISE-GLACES ET LE SERVICE DE DÉGLAÇAGE

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Le Bureau d’information maritime propose une capsule d’information afin de vous aider à mieux comprendre le rôle de la Garde côtière,  en quoi consiste le service de déglaçage, l’état de la flotte de brise-glaces et les répercussions que celle-ci entraîne sur le niveau de service fourni par la Garde-côtière.

Nouvelles mesures de Transports Canada pour protéger les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord des collisions avec les navires dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Transports Canada est préoccupé par la vague de mortalité des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord menacées dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Pour la deuxième année, Transports Canada prend activement des mesures pour réduire au minimum les risques auxquels sont exposés les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord et le personnel maritime dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Le 11 août 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a imposé une limitation de vitesse de 10 nœuds aux navires de 20 mètres ou plus lorsqu’ils naviguent dans l’ouest du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

LYNE MORISSETTE NOUVELLE EXPERTE MAMMIFÈRES ET ÉCOSYSTÈMES MARINS POUR LE BUREAU D’INFORMATION MARITIME

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Québec, le 22 mars 2018 – Le Bureau d’information maritime (BIM), guichet unique et référence pour toute question relative à l’industrie maritime et aux principaux enjeux qui la touchent, est fier d’annoncer que Lyne Morissette agira dorénavant à titre d’experte pour les dossiers relatifs aux mammifères et aux écosystèmes marins.

Le gouvernement annonce de nouvelles initiatives visant à protéger les baleines dans le cadre du Plan de protection des océans

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Le gouvernement prend des mesures pour protéger les mammifères marins: En tout 12,2 millions de dollars seront investis pour étudier les incidences du bruit sous-marin sur les mammifères marins, pour développer des technologies de détection en temps réel et pour aider à protéger et rétablir les espèces de baleines en voie de disparition au Canada.

Le BIM vous informe : La limitation de la vitesse des navires et les baleines noires

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Le Bureau d’information maritime propose une capsule spéciale sur les baleines noires pour mettre en lumière les raisons qui ont poussé la mise en place de cette mesure et ses impacts sur le transport maritime.

La Convention BWM entre en vigueur

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

Ce vendredi 8 septembre 2017 est entré en vigueur un instrument international clé pour la protection de l’environnement dont l’objectif est d’enrayer la prolifération des espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans les eaux de ballast des navires.

La Convention internationale pour le contrôle et la gestion des eaux de ballast et sédiments des navires (Convention BWM) impose aux navires de gérer leurs eaux de ballast pour éliminer ou rendre inoffensifs les organismes aquatiques nuisibles et les agents pathogènes présents dans les eaux de ballast et sédiments, ou pour empêcher qu’ils soient admis dans ces eaux et sédiments ou rejetés avec eux.

Le BIM vous informe : Énergie Saguenay et bélugas

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

À la suite d’un article paru le 6 septembre 2017 dans le Journal de Montréal sur le développement d’un projet de port méthanier à Saguenay et son impact sur le béluga, le Bureau d’information maritime (BIM) souhaite rectifier quelques informations :

1. Fiche d’information des autorités fédérales versus avis formel de Pêches et Océans Canada

Contrairement à ce qui est mentionné dans l’article, le document provenant de Pêches et Océans Canada ne constitue pas un avis formel du ministère sur le projet Énergie Saguenay de GNL Québec, mais plutôt une « Fiche d’information des autorités fédérales. » Ce type de fiche est en fait un formulaire distribué par l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale (ACEE) aux différents ministères fédéraux concernés à la suite du dépôt d’une description de projet par un promoteur. Dans cette fiche, les ministères fédéraux peuvent mentionner l’expertise qu’ils possèdent pour procéder éventuellement à l’évaluation environnementale du projet et soulever ses effets négatifs potentiels et anticipés. Ainsi, il s’agit donc d’un travail préliminaire à l’étude d’impact environnemental et n’est en rien une analyse exhaustive ou une évaluation du projet et de ses impacts environnementaux.

Le BIM vous informe : la réglementation du transport maritime

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

À la suite d’une chronique parue le 16 août 2017 dans Le Quotidien, le Bureau d’information maritime (BIM) souhaite rappeler que le transport maritime est une industrie très encadrée sur le plan réglementaire, et ce, dans presque tous ses aspects (réf). Le BIM vous informe que :

1. Réglementation internationale

De par la nature même du transport maritime, au centre du commerce international, il est essentiel d’avoir une réglementation à l’échelle mondiale. La réglementation maritime internationale est régie et développée par des agences spécialisées de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), dont l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI). L’OMI compte actuellement 172 États membres et les conventions qu’elle a développées depuis sa création (une trentaine) touchent plusieurs aspects, dont la sécurité et la sûreté du transport maritime international et la prévention de la pollution due aux navires. Selon l’OMI, « […] bon nombre de conventions s’appliquent actuellement à plus de 98 % du tonnage de la flotte mondiale des navires de commerce (réf). »

LES PARTICIPANTS DE L’ALLIANCE VERTE RELÈVENT DE NOUVEAUX DÉFIS

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

L’Alliance verte souligne son 10e anniversaire en tant que programme de certification environnementale pour l’industrie maritime nord-américaine en tenant son colloque annuel au Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six jusqu’à demain. GreenTech 2017 s’est ouvert ce matin avec le dévoilement des résultats de performance environnementale pour l’année 2016 de la centaine de participants de l’Alliance verte.

Les participants de l’Alliance verte ont obtenu une moyenne globale de 3,1 sur une échelle de 1 à 5, où le niveau 1 illustre le suivi réglementaire et où le niveau 5 démontre l’excellence et le leadership. La moyenne globale, tout indicateurs confondus, demeure constante depuis quelques années malgré l’ajout d’indicateurs et le renforcement des critères.

Le BIM vous informe : les eaux de ballast et les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Lire la suite
Voir toutes les nouvelles

À la suite d’un article paru le 18 mars 2017 dans Le Devoir, le Bureau d’information maritime (BIM) souhaite apporter quelques précisions concernant les mesures de gestion des eaux de ballast des navires circulant au Canada.

D’abord, qu’est-ce que l’eau de ballast?

L’eau de ballast est essentielle pour garantir l’exploitation sécuritaire des navires marchands. Elle leur permet de naviguer à la bonne profondeur et d’en assurer la stabilité. Le ballastage est essentiel lorsqu’un navire transporte une lourde cargaison dans l’une de ses cales et une plus légère dans une autre, lorsqu’il voyage à vide ou lorsque la mer est agitée.

Il est possible que des espèces aquatiques non-indigènes et potentiellement envahissantes soient introduites par le déchargement d’eaux de ballast. Toutefois, la réglementation internationale et canadienne, en vigueur depuis plusieurs années (respectivement 2004 et 2006), vise à contrer cette problématique.

BACK